Safety in Numbers

Living in an apartment complex that is tucked in the woods and not near any running trails, I’ve had to think about running safety more than at home in Arizona. It used to be so easy to walk out of the house and hit the road. Here in Birmingham, I have to find safe spots to run and give myself enough time before it gets too dark.

The first thing I would suggest is to get a running buddy. The buddy system wasn’t just made for elementary school you know. And if you can’t find a running buddy, look into joining a group like I did. It’s easy to find people around the same level as you and it also makes for a good conversation!

Also:

  • Always be on alert when you are running by yourself. Don’t blare your music, just keep it at a level where you can still hear what’s going on around you.
  • Look into getting a Road ID band. You can personalize it to give your information as well as emergency contact information.
  • If your only option is to run at night, opt to buy reflector accessories or reflector apparel like this one by Nike.
  • I’ve also been known to carry around one of these grip mace containers. They are very light and I always felt protected! (Just don’t sneak up on me while I’m running)
  • Always run on the side of the road with opposite flowing traffic. It’s better to see what is coming in your direction.

Happy running and keep safe! Keep clicking while you’re kicking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Safety in Numbers

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m pretty sure I have the best running buddy in Birmingham! 🙂 Our chats keep my mind off the running and actually make working out fun! Can’t wait for our next running adventure.

Leave a Reply

